Home Page


The children will receive a daily 20 minute phonics lesson.

Please scroll down this page to find out about the sounds that are being taught every week in Chaplin Class.


As the children begin Year 1, we continue to use and revise Phases 2 and 3 of the Letters and Sounds framework during our daily phonics lessons. We also introduce the children to Phase 4 and 'alternative graphemes' in Phase 5. 


Each 'Phase' is outlined below:


Phase 2

Set 1: s, a, t, p
Set 2: i, n, m, d
Set 3: g, o, c, k
Set 4: ck, e, u, r
Set 5: h, b, f, ff, l, ll, ss



Phase 3

Set 6: j, v, w, x

Set 7: y, z, zz, qu

Consonant digraphs: ch, sh, th, ng

Vowel digraphs: ai, ee, igh, oa, oo, ar, or, ur, ow, oi, ear, air, ure, er



Phase 4 

The main aim of Phase 4 is to consolidate the children's knowledge and to help them learn to read and spell words which have adjacent consonants, such as trap, string and milk.

The children also learn to read and spell tricky words which cannot yet be decoded.



Phase 5

Phase 5 is where the children begin to learn alternative sounds for graphemes taught in Phase 3. For example, the children were taught 'ai' (snail in the rain) in Phase 3. They will now learn 'ay' (may I play?) in Phase 5.

The children will be blending (reading) and segmenting (spelling) words using newly taught alternative graphemes. These will be listed here at the beginning of every week.




There are some brilliant websites where the children can practise their phonics and reading skills. Please use the 'Useful Links' section.