Brentry Primary School

Learn Together - SHARE Success

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors' section. This is a team of committed individuals made up of parents, staff and members of the community. They help lead and manage the school, taking a major role in areas such as recruitment, strategic planning and monitoring.


As the current Chair of Governors I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your interest in the ‘community’ that is Brentry Primary School. I have chosen the word ‘community’ because the school is more than just the staff and the children but also the parents, carers, volunteers and Governors who are joined together to ensure that the pupils’ education and care is of the highest standard.


The Governing Body are all volunteers who have the ultimate responsibility for the leadership and management of the school in relation to the children’s education, finance, staffing, recruitment and the management of the school’s facilities. This all sounds very grand but the Governors can be best described as ‘critical friends’. They include parents, community representatives and people appointed by the Local Authority. They all bring specific required skills and talents to the Governing Body. Anyone who is interested in becoming a Governor should contact the school and express an interest.


The operational and daily leadership of the school is still firmly vested in the Head Teacher, who together with two members of staff also forms part of the Governing Body. Your feedback and ideas in relation to Brentry Primary School are always welcome and will always be considered and, where appropriate, acted upon. Remember we do not know unless you tell us.


If you wish to contact the Governors, please write to me via the school (Brentry Primary School, Brentry Lane, Bristol BS10 6RG) or email me via


Warm regards 

Mr Christopher Pullin

Chair of Governors



Governing Body                                  

Chair of Governors
Mr Christopher Pullin


Vice Chair of Governors
Mr Peter Ellwood


Committee Chairs
Finance & Resources – Mr Peter Ellwood
Pupil Outcomes - Mrs Lucy Matthews


Committee Vice Chairs
Finance & Resources – Mr Lee Hannan
Pupil Outcomes - Mrs Wendy Lacey


Community Governors  Term of Office 

Miss Claire Ransom                           18 Oct 2021 to 17 Oct 2025

Mrs Cynthia Reynolds                         06 Jan 2019   to   05 Jan 2023                            
Mr Christopher Pullin                           06 Jan 2019   to   05 Jan 2023
Mr Jason Hyde                                   18 Oct 2021 to 17 Oct 2025

Mr Sam Kane                                     18 Oct 2021 to 17 Oct 2025
Mrs Lucy Matthews                            22 Oct 2018  to   21 Oct 2022       


Parent Governors                            Term of Office        

Mr Lee Hannan                                   02 Oct 2018 to 01 Oct 2022

Mrs Wendy Lacey                                02 Oct 2018 to 01 Oct 2022

Staff Governors                               Term of Office          

Mrs Hannah Jack                               17 May 2021 to 16 May 2025


Authority Governor                         Term of Office

Mr Peter Ellwood                                 08 Jul 2018   to   07 Jul 2022


Mr Geraint Clarke is also a governor of the school ex officio


Clerk to the Governors
Mrs Joanne Hyde


Term of Office

An individual will be appointed to the governing body for a maximum of 4 years, at which time they are subject to re-election if they wish to continue.


Governing Committees


Pupil Outcomes
Christopher Pullin, Jason Hyde, Lucy Matthews, Claire Ransom, Geraint Clarke, Wendy Lacey, Sam Kane



Finance & Resources
Peter Ellwood, Christopher Pullin, Geraint Clarke, Lee Hannan, Cynthia Reynolds, Jason Hyde, Hannah Jack (SBM - Advisory Capacity), Sam Kane.


Safeguarding Team

Christopher Pullin, Wendy Lacey (CP/SEND), Geraint Clarke, Hannah Jack, Claire Ransom, Lee Hannan (H&S).


Link Governors

Wellbeing Governor – Wendy Lacey

SEND Governor – Wendy Lacey

CP/LAC Governor – Wendy Lacey

H&S Governor - Lee Hannan

Pupil Premium Governor – Christopher Pullin

Prevent Duty Governor - Christopher Pullin

Computing Governor – Peter Ellwood

Numeracy Governor – Peter Ellwood

Literacy Governor – Lucy Matthews

Associate Governor – Hannah Jack


Additional Links

Pupil Discipline - Christopher Pullin

Pupil Discipline Appeals -  Cynthia Reynolds + 2 TBC

Head’s Performance Review Committee - Christopher Pullin / Peter Ellwood / Cynthia Reynolds

Head’s Performance Review Appeals Governor - TBC

Self-Evaluation Panel (SEF Panel) - Christopher Pullin / Peter Ellwood

Pay/Appraisal Committee - Christopher Pullin  / Peter Ellwood/ Lee Hannan

Pay Appeals Committee - Jason Hyde / Wendy Lacey / Lucy Matthews

Children’s Centre Liaison Governor – Christopher Pullin

Association of Bristol Governor’s Representative (ABG) - Rotated

PTA Rep - Lee Hannan

GDPR - Peter Ellwood

Online Safety - Peter Ellwood



Pecuniary Interest

Christopher Pullin - Chris's son in law owns the local cleaning company called Cosmic Hygiene., which the school has a cleaning contract with.

Lee Hannan - Lee is employed as a Strategic Supplier Relations Manager for BAM Facilities Management LTD. 


Class Links

Potter Class - Lee Hannan

Anning Class - Pete Ellwood

Brunel Class - Pete Ellwood

Parks Class - Lee Hannan

Bowie Class - Christopher Pullin / Cynthia Reynolds

Simmonds Class - Lucy Matthews

Darwin Class - Wendy Lacey







Instrument of Government

What a handsome bunch!